Brittany's reflections
 
Picture
I’m in a debacle. I’m not a fan of Twitter whatsoever, but I feel compelled to join. I feel a little guilt that I’m not on it because pretty much every speaker we have in class says we should for job opportunities. But I really just don’t want to join.

One reason I haven’t joined yet is because I like to have a little disconnect from being “connected.” I purposely don’t have internet on my phone for this reason. I’m already on my lap top enough. I check my e-mail and Facebook at least three times per day and I don’t want to spend more time updating Twitter. However, maybe I should take the time, especially if it’s going to land me a job.


Also, as mentioned before, I don’t have internet on my phone. I could get it, but I don’t want it. It seems like half the reason to have a Twitter account is so you can easily update it from your phone. So wouldn’t I be defeating the purpose by having to go to a computer every time? On the other hand, so what if I have to update Twitter via lap top? I’m already on it a lot anyway.

And my debate continues….

I love Facebook, don’t get me wrong, but I hate the mindless status updates. Isn’t that pretty much what Twitter is? I’m not sure I could handle more updates like “So and So is eating pizza and watching Dancing With the Stars,” or “So and So is running errands and then getting a manicure.” Who cares?

But, should I try to get past my annoyance of these updates if it means I will get a job?

Another reason I’m not sure I should join Twitter is that I’m not sure how well I’ll maintain it. Sure, I update my Facebook status, but probably only once or twice a week. I just can’t see myself Tweeting more than 3-4 times per week. I know it should be at least 3-4 times per day. I’m not sure I’m up for that. But should I be? Should I somehow become more motivated in that way?

I remember in class last week, Linda (our professor) told us that we shouldn’t think we have to be on absolutely every social media site to enhance our social media presence. I already know I’m not joining sites like MySpace, Bebo, Delicious, Digg, etc. But what about Twitter? 

It seems like when anyone talks about social media Web sites the first to that come to mind are Facebook and Twitter. Will my chances of getting a job diminish if I don’t join Twitter because it’s one of the “mainstream” social media sites?

More than likely, I will not become a social media analyst, strategist or anything like that. I understand if I were, then joining Twitter would be a no brainer. 

Maybe I’m making this into a bigger deal than it needs to be. Maybe I should just join. But I just can’t bring myself to do that.

What should I do?




Leave a Reply.