Brittany's reflections
 
Last Friday, I had the opportunity to see The Social Network. Overall, I thought the movie was just fair. It's worth seeing, but if it wasn't a class assignment I probably would have just waited until it came out on DVD. If you haven't seen it yet, you might not want to read the rest of this. Following are the reasons why I thought it is was just so-so.

Mark Zuckerberg's character. For one, I'm not sure if was an accurate portrayal of the creator of Facebook. Even if it was, his character drove me nuts. Maybe that's how the producers meant it, I'm not sure. Although funny at times, he seemed rather socially awkward and nearly heartless. The end showed me he did have a small heart, and that Justin Timberlake's character Shawn Parker, the creator of Napster, was the one behind the heartless decisions. I thought Zuckerberg was into Facebook only for the business and not to make friends. I guess maybe that's what it takes to be the youngest billionaire in the world. I just didn't realize that he was like that.

I also thought the movie made college girls look like drunk idiots most of the time, with the exception of his ex girlfriend. Most scenes with girls showed them dressed suggestively, drunk, and/or having one nights stands. The girls (such as the Standford girl) were mostly portrayed as stupid sluts. I was in college, and I can tell you that not all college girls are like that.

Justin Timberlake as the Napster guy. The guy is a singer, not an actor.

I'm not sure how accurate the movie was. Some scenes showed the characters possibly texting, or at least reading e-mails on their phones. I am only a year younger than Zuckerberg, and I don't remember technology being that advanced at that time. Although maybe it was and I just didn't realize it.

Even though I found I didn't like a few aspects of the movie, I did actually like parts of it, and I learned a lot from it. For example, I had no idea the law suits that arose from Zuckerberg's creation of Facebook. I remember hearing that he may have stole the idea, but I never knew anything else. I also never knew exactly what writing code for Facebook entailed. According to the movie, Zuckerberg spent the better part of his college career writing code. He would spend hours and hours and a time writing it. How boring and tedious that sounds. I also learned that if a person tries to "make it big," it's not going to be easy.

I would like to know Zuckerberg's take on the movie. The only comments I know he said is, "I just wished that nobody made a movie of me while I was still alive." Is it accurate?



Leave a Reply.