Brittany's reflections
 
Picture
During this past semester, our class listened to many guest speakers. At least two of these guest speakers (Laura Gainor and Tonise Paul) talked about the way they are using social media to advance their careers and ultimately change the way marketing and communication works.

Laura Gainor used Twitter to land her job at Comet Branding in Milwaukee. She used video posts and Tweets to put herself on the Web and let her company know she’s a very avid user of social media (she was applying for a social media strategist position, so it all made sense).


Tonise Paul talked about the way her company, BBDO, which she is the president and CEO of, used social media as a marketing tool. She showed this video, which is about the way they promoted the Chicago Art Museum through finding "lost" red cubes around the city of Chicago.

After listening to these speakers, I realized that social media is a very powerful tool. More powerful than I ever would have guessed it would be. So I decided to make it part of my final project health communication class, in which we were to create a health communication campaign. We didn’t actually create a campaign, but we were supposed to set it up as if we would. My campaign’s goal was to decrease people’s confusion about fats in food, and increase knowledge about what fats are good to eat and what fats are bad. The end goal, although a long shot, would be to change people’s eating behaviors. The program is targeted at the digital generation (teens and college students).

After giving my final project presentation to my class this week, we had a discussion about how people seem to be motivated by social media challenges, especially when they might win something for it.

My point is that this motivation to find a red box or increasing online presence to land a job is very fascinating to me. If I lived in Chicago and someone wanted me to find a red box, I’m not so sure I would be motivated to do so. I guess I just don’t become that enthused or excited about running around a city to try to get free tickets to a museum. Now if it were about landing a job, it might be a different story. But I’m still not sure I would want to put myself out there like Gainor did. But then again, maybe I would have to be fueled by wanting a job so badly I would do whatever it took to get it.

But for whatever reason, it would take a lot for me to be motivated by the red box project. Why is that? I do not get involved in very many other games online either, and rarely find games addicting. Don’t get me wrong, I love games. I just don’t find them addicting like some people do. Maybe it’s because I’m not part of the digital generation. Maybe it’s because I’m only competitive with things I like or I am good at, such as soccer and euchre (card game).

Even though I am not motivated or competitive with social media marketing, I still think it’s fascinating and love seeing other people become motivated by it. 






Leave a Reply.