Brittany's reflections
 
Maybe I'm getting old. Or maybe I am a technology snob. Whatever I may be, I just don't understand why anyone would need (or want) an iPad. If you want one that bad, then go buy an iPhone. It does everything an iPad does, plus you get an extra bonus: a phone!

Each student in our class last week got to play with an iPad. I had never used one before, so I was looking forward to it. Maybe it was because there were no downloaded apps on this one (because it belonged to the university), but I after I played with it for about an hour, I became bored. My boredom with it could be chalked up to my sometimes lack of patience with things, but I still don't see why anyone would need one. I guess no body really needs a laptop either though, and here I am typing this blog on a laptop...

I think if I owned an iPad I would struggle with when to use it. I'm just sitting around browsing Facebook, should I put my laptop away and get out my iPad? But now I need to get going on that 20-page paper I have to write, do I put away my iPad now and get out my laptop? (iPad's do not have Microsoft Word.) Uh oh, I encountered a Web site with Flash. (iPad's do not load Flash pages.) Now I have to put away my iPad and get out my laptop. I'm going for a road trip to California, which do I bring? I digress...

iPad's also do not have a USB port or a disc drive. You can use the keyboards on them, but my guess would be not too many people would want to write anything more than a short e-mail on them. Because iPad's do not have many essential items for some people there are many download-able apps — many for a fee. Apple also has gadgets you can purchase such as a stand you can plug the iPad into so you can attach a keyboard, or adaptable plugs for a USB port. When iPad's are already around $600, who would want to spend more money on gadgets? I also know that there's basically an app for everything. But, like I said before, I'd rather just get an iPhone and load that with apps.

I know I'm being cynical, but sorry Apple, I'm not impressed. I would rather have a device that has everything an iPad has, plus a phone for less money. I know it's smaller, but with my 25-year-old eyes, it doesn't matter.

Until Apple develops (maybe it already has) an iPad with a USB port, Microsoft Word and able to download Flash, I'm not buying one.






Leave a Reply.