Brittany's reflections
 
As I am approaching my final semester of graduate school, I’m realizing I must start job searching. Again. While I’m not exactly looking forward to the task, I also realize how far I have come since I first moved to Milwaukee two years ago.

Almost exactly two years ago was the first time I spent more than a weekend in Milwaukee. It was also my first time in the Bradley Center, in Mayfair Mall and getting lost on my way to Marquette University’s campus. It was also my first time getting used to the idea of Marquette as a University, and not just a city in the upper peninsula of Michigan. I moved to Milwaukee only about a week after getting laid off from my job as a newspaper reporter in Adrian, Michigan. It was tough, but somehow I remained fairly upbeat.

That winter and early spring, I had a few promising job interviews. After I found out I didn’t get one I was very hopeful for, I decided to look at other options. That’s when I met with the Associate Dean of Communication at Marquette and decided to attend grad school. I never thought I would go to grad school. There was no need to at the time I received my Bachelor’s degree. But needless to say, in only two years, times had changed.

Now, with graduation looming over me in May, I know I must start applying for jobs again. And although the part time position I have now at the Medical College of Wisconsin may possibly turn into a full time opportunity, I know I still must look elsewhere just in case it doesn’t.

But I have a lot more going for me than I did two years ago. I have may a lot more contacts, including people I work with at MCW, the faculty members I research for at Marquette, professors who have taught me, doctors I will be interviewing for my professional project this semester, etc. I have more of an online presence, including my own Web site www.mbrittany.com, another Web site, and a LinkedIn profile.

I know without being in graduate school, I wouldn’t have gotten the position at MCW. And if I didn’t have work experience, I might not be researching for two faculty members at Marquette and therefore, probably wouldn’t be there. I don’t regret any of the career choices I have made; each has gotten me to where I am today and will hopefully (already getting my hopes up!) land me a fun, but challenging opportunity after I earn my Master’s degree. I hope it’s all worth it.

Here’s to my final semester!




Leave a Reply.