Brittany's reflections
 
Lately I have noticed a difference in manners when it comes to cell phone use. It used to be (and maybe still is) considered very rude to take a phone call in the middle of a conversation, or to be texting while eating a meal at a restaurant. It seems like now that it’s more acceptable. It’s almost like people understand because they do it, too.

Admittedly, I am known to text or check my phone during a conversation. I really try hard not to, though, because I don’t like it when others do it. While others claim to be good “multi-taskers,” I know I am not. I try to be, but I’m just not. I simply cannot pay full attention to a conversation while texting. My mind is half on the text message, and half on the conversation, which means bad news for me. Usually I’ll send the text to the wrong person, or say something that doesn’t make any sense in the conversation. I lose my train of thought on both ends, and it just ends up being rather disastrous.

In class last semester we watched a documentary on multi-tasking. A series of tests were done on a group of “good” multi-taskers, and it was discovered that they weren’t as good as they thought.

Anyway, back to the whole manners topic. I remember in college, when cell phones were first becoming popular, it was rude to even bring a cell phone to class. We were supposed to leave them in our dorm rooms, which I actually remember doing. Now, it’s considered OK to bring one to class, but they must be on silent. By the way, silent doesn’t mean vibrate. It’s rather distracting to hear someone’s phone vibrating during a test, or when the instructor is trying to lecture.

If someone takes a phone call during a conversation I’m having with them, I completely understand if it’s an important call. But, then again, how many calls are really that important that they can’t wait? “Important” calls also lead me to ask, what did you do before cell phones?




Leave a Reply.