Brittany's reflections
 
For those of you who don't know (and I'm sure there aren't many), Facebook crashed last Wednesday. It was only down for a few hours, but one would have thought it was down for days, or even weeks. One also might have thought the world was about to end, or the sky was falling.

God forbid we had to live without knowing what was going on in the lives of other people for a few hours, or that we had to work on a paper continuously for two hours without a Facebook procrastination break. Admittedly, I'm guilty of this too. I mean, seriously, who can sit at their computer for two hours straight and work on a paper without checking Facebook? Seems so stupid, but it's so true. What in the world did we do without this procrastination station?

When I was in high school, cell phones were just making their debut. When I was a freshman in undergrad, live journals were popular. Lap tops were just becoming affordable and wireless internet was just becoming the "thing." Remember wireless cards? My first lap top had one. We also... gasp... didn't have Facebook! It wasn't until probably the middle of my sophomore year in college that I opened a Facebook account.

Now I wonder what we did without it.

I wonder if some people could live a week without Facebook, or any other social media site. It seems preposterous to think that some people couldn't, but I really wonder with the way I saw people freaking out when it was down.

It's not just Facebook. Do you ever drive somewhere and realize you forgot your cell phone? I admit that I get a little worrisome when I do that. Heaven forbid if something happens I'll have to knock on someone's door and ask to use a phone. That's so 15 years ago.

Now it seems weird to just use a cell phone for just an actual phone. Now we're "wired" 24/7 to social media sites, our e-mail, and who knows what else. For a while it was cool to watch a movie on a big TV screen. Now it's cool to watch it in HD on the tiny screen of your phone. How weird is that? If you think about it, why do we need internet on our phones?

It's hard to imagine a world the way in which our parents lived in. A world where they used actual paper maps, card catalogs, encyclopedias, land lines and filing cabinets. I wonder if they felt disconnected if the phones were out, or if they felt uneasy driving somewhere without a map.

It's just amazing to me how dependent we've become on technology. When it breaks or something goes wrong, we don't know what to do with ourselves. We've been a part of technology for most of our lives and it has become a part of our daily routine. It would be weird to me not to check my e-mail every morning, or not to be able to pay a bill online.

It's amazing how technology has shaped our lives, isn't it?



Leave a Reply.