Brittany's reflections
 
Picture
Being a former journalist, I was intrigued by an article I recently read about a newspaper that will have no “print” or “web” edition. Called The Daily, the newspaper will be available on devices such as the iPad at 99 cents per week, or $52 per year, and will have news updates available three times per day. Available sometime in early 2011, the digital newspaper’s headquarters will be in New York City and it will have a staff of about 100.

 First of all, I have a few questions about the “inewspaper.” What will the content of the news be? Similar to USA Today it that it’s general news about the world? Who will write the articles? The newspaper’s own reporters, or will it just be articles pulled from the Associated Press wire? What format will the newspaper be in? Actual full-length articles, or news similar to a Tweet? What will be different in this newspaper versus a free one? What will make people want to purchase this newspaper?

Depending on the answers to these questions, the inewspaper is something I would definitely consider purchasing.

Overall, I think an inewspaper is exactly what is needed in the journalism world. I think it’s what’s next in terms of news, and I think in the next decade or so more newspapers will be (or should be) adapting something similar.

However, I wonder if people will purchase this newspaper, especially when they can get news for free from their local newspaper’s Web site, or from Web sites such as CNN or FoxNews? For example, right now I receive all my news online. I go to the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel’s Web site a few times per week, and also two local newspaper’s Web sites in my hometown. I’m also known to go to a few different national news Web sites a few times per week. I receive all of my news for free, so why would I pay for something extra? I would need a pretty good reason.

On the other hand, maybe it’s just me. Maybe I’m one of the few that wouldn’t pay for an inewspaper. Maybe I will find a reason to pay once I have a stable job and am not a graduate student on a budget.

Another point I want to make is that it’s hard for me to think about a demographic that might be attracted to the inewspaper. On one hand, it might be college students or young working professionals because of the digital attraction. But on the other hand, I’m not sure I can see this demographic paying for a newspaper. I can see the older generation paying for it, but I can’t see many of them being that digitally savvy.

Needless to say, The Daily has certainly peaked my interest and I’m curious to see how it will pan out.

To read the articles that sparked this blog, visit here or here.






Leave a Reply.